Our Committee and primary focus

The Volunteer Marine Rescue Western Australia (VMRWA) Committee is made up of representatives from our member groups with Regional Commanders liaising directly with the groups in their geographic area.

The primary focus of our Committee is to provide a channel through which government organisations can communicate and engage with Volunteer Marine Rescue (VMR) groups.

Interdepartmental relationships

Our Committee works closely with:


This allows the Committee to:

  • Negotiate funding requirements, training programs, policies and procedures

  • Ensure incident management frameworks remain consistent and understood

  • Develop Australian standards for vessels, areas of operation, manning levels.

Job positions and descriptions

Structure and hierarchy

Committee flowchart.jpg

Committee personnel

VMRWA Commander

Jeff Howe

Email: Commander@vmrwa.org.au

VMRWA Vice Commander

Roger Martin

Email: ViceCommander@vmrwa.org.au


Jessica Gunn

Email: Secretary@vmrwa.org.au


Barb Walton

Email: Treasurer@vmrwa.org.au

Public Relations

Paul Dehncke

Email: PublicRelations@vmrwa.org.au


Ian Beard

Email: Communications@vmrwa.org.au

Kimberley/Pilbara Regional Commander

Adam Harfey

Email: KimberleyPilbaraRegion@vmrwa.org.au

North West Regional Commander

Greg Ridgley

Email: NorthWestRegion@vmrwa.org.au

Mid-West Regional Commander

Dan Goodlad

Email: MidWestRegion@vmrwa.org.au

Metropolitan Regional Commander

Mark Carruthers

Email: MetroRegion@vmrwa.org.au

South West Regional Commander

Brian Lucy

Email: SouthWestRegion@vmrwa.org.au

South Coast Regional Commander

Alex Williams

Email: SouthCoastRegion@vmrwa.org.au

Great Southern Regional Commander

Chris Buckley

Email: GreatSouthernRegion@vmrwa.org.au

​Site design: 

© 2017 by Q2 Online

​​Call us:

+61 8 9527 1181

​Mail us: 

PO Box 1455, Mandurah WA 6210

​​Follow us: